Joyce Carol Oates


joyce-carol-oates        Joyce Carol Oates

Lockport, New York, United States: Joyce Carol Oates born June 16, 1938 is an American writer. Oates published her first book in 1963 and has since published over 40 novels, as well as a number of plays and novellas, and many volumes of short stories, poetry, and nonfiction. She has won many awards for her writing, including the National Book Award, for her novel them two O. Henry Awards, and the National Humanities Medal. Her novels Black Water What I Lived For  1994 Blonde 2000 and short story collections The Wheel of Love and Other Stories 1970 and Lovely Dark, Deep: Stories 2014 were each nominated for the Pulitzer Prize.

Oates has taught at Princeton University since 1978 and is currently the Roger S. Berlind ’52 Professor Emerita in the Humanities with the Program in Creative Writing.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s